Breakfast Recipe for you to try this week.

Last week a client asked me what I normally eat for breakfast.  If you read far back on my blog you will see some of my favourite breakfasts are:

  1.  Gluten free silver hills toast with peanut butter and banana.  (Almond butter is definitely healthier, but it doesn’t seem to be something I can budge on).
  2. Smoothie packed with greens, fruit, and protein.
  3. egg muffins packed with veggies.
  4. A wrap filled with scrambled eggs (which I often get from the cafe across from the gym!).  An ideal wrap would be a very simple, minimal ingredient and processing version.

Today I decided to get creative and try a new recipe for breakfast over the next few days.  Something I can grab in a jar quick in the morning that will fuel me through a few personal training sessions and a work out.

One of my favourite blogs is “Oh She Glows” You have seen my write about this blog a lot lately.  This week I tried her “Coconut-CardamonVegan Overnight Oat Parfait with Blueberry Chia Seed Jam”.

You can find the link to her recipe here:  http://ohsheglows.com/2015/07/30/coconut-cardamom-vegan-overnight-oat-parfait-with-blueberry-chia-seed-jam/

I like this recipe (I’ve had just a sneak peak of the taste, saving the rest for the morning!).  I think it’s also important to note the amount of sugar in the form of fruit, maple syrup, and oats there is in this recipe.  Carbs and sugars are important to consume, and are used primarily when we exercise and move our body.  Since I will be training and exercising all morning I know I will use this fuel.  If you are going to try this for breakfast and then sit at a desk all morning, you might find the sugar level will send you on a rollercoaster of energy and sugar crash’s in the morning.  I won’t get too much into the blood sugar, insulin, energy connection, instead try it and see how you feel!

Here are the photo’s of my cooking up a storm!IMG_1225 IMG_1226

What do you normally eat for breakfast (post it in the comments below!).

  •  Katherine

Leave a Reply

