30 Day Cooking Challenge- Pictures and Recipes included :)

What a fun week of cooking and eating !  I am happy to report I have been cooking at least once a day (sometimes I will do two on one day, but I’m counting it anyways!).  Here are the recipes I have tried.  They are mostly from the Oh She Glows blog (http://ohsheglows.com/) , Deliciously Ella (http://deliciouslyella.com/), and Nom Nom Paleo (http://nomnompaleo.com/) this week.

Day #3/30: Pumpkin Gnocchi

Here is the recipe:  http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/13/vegan-pumpkin-mac-n-cheeze-sauce/

IMG_0976

This recipe was absolutely delicious, rich, and one of the best things I have ever cooked (even though it looks kind of strange in the picture..).

The only substitution is I used butter instead of the earth balance recommended.  I would highly recommend trying this dish, and I will make it again.  The nice thing was it was super quick to whip up (especially because gnocchi cooks very quickly.

Day # 4/30:  

Just a standard Inidian slow cooker recipe (by me!).

IMG_0983 IMG_0984 IMG_0991One of my favourite types of food is Indian food.  I never follow a recipe, and just tend to add some of my favourite things to a crock pot, and it always ends up tasting delicious.  In this recipe I combined:

–  2 chicken breasts       –  1 large onion

–  3 cloves of garlic        –  a can of pre made butter chicken sauce (obviously making your own is one step up, and my eventual goal)

–  coconut milk (I went overboard here and added a whole can, don’t add so much unless you like it soupy!)

Then I toss it in the slow cooker while I head to work, come home and serve it over a bed of quinoa and rice!  Delicious 🙂  The meat is so tender and flavourful from the slow cooker.

Day #5/30:  Geena’s Hemp Seed Tabouli

 http://ohsheglows.com/2014/07/28/genas-hemp-seed-tabouli/

IMG_0986

mmm I love tabouli, and I made it with fresh parsley from my garden (such a rewarding feeling!).  We make this type of recipe a lot.  The problem I found with this one is it didn’t keep my full too long..

The changes I made to the recipe are:

1.  I used dill instead of mint (couldn’t find mint at the store, and I love dill!).

2.  I used olive oil instead of hemp oil.

3.  I added a huge helping of quinoa to beef up the meal so that it would last me a few days.

Day #6/30:  Shepherd’s Pie

Recipe link:  http://paleocomfortfoods.com/in-the-kitchen/farmers-pie/

Originally I found it on Nom Nom Paleo

IMG_1006

To be honest, this wasn’t my favourite shepherd’s pie I have ever made.  It tasted OK, but wasn’t delicious like some I have made in the past.  I didn’t really like the tomato paste that the recipe called for.  Shepherd’s pie is usually one of my favourite meals, so I will probably try it again with a different recipe!  I used real potatoes and only beef (the recipe calls for cauliflower and beef/lamb.

Day #7/30:  Homemade Pumpkin Smoothie

IMG_1028

Well, this doesn’t really count as cooking.  But today I really just wanted a pumpkin smoothie!  I was happy to make one, rather than head off to my favourite spot (Body Energy Club) which serves delicious smoothies, but I can’t spend all my pay cheques there!

In this smoothie I included:  pumpkin, vanilla whey protein powder (I eat the Kaizen brand from Body Energy Club), kale, banana, a greens supplement (with chollera and spirulina), and almond milk.  It came out pretty thick and ‘pumpkiny’ just like I like it!

Day #8/30:  Carrot Cake Baked Oatmeal

Recipe link: http://ohsheglows.com/2014/03/19/heavenly-carrot-cake-baked-oatmeal/

IMG_1040

This recipe is delicious!  I look forward to making it again and again!  It tastes so sweet, but is not too sweet to be having for breakfast!  The carrot, coconut nectar and raisins really add to the sweetness.  I had it with a small bowl of cherries this morning before my bike and workout..mmm…

It was a very easy recipe.  One thing I need to practice with baking is not just throwing everything in a bowl and mixing.  My recipe turned out fine, but I am sure there is reason for separating the dry and wet ingredients and mixing them at a certain point in the recipe- I’ll get that next time!

Here is little blurb I found online in my research on why coconut nectar is quite healthy:

The Details on Coconut Secret brand Raw Coconut Nectar

Click HERE for link

Virgin nectar is evaporated at low temperatures to ensure that enzymes remain alive and active.

Coconut nectar has a low glycemic index score of 35. (This is good! Low glycemic foods score from 0-55; medium GI is 56 – 69, and high is 70 – 100. Read this for more info on why you should eat low glycemic foods.) It also contains 74% sucrose, 10-12% glucose and 10-12% fructose. Many sweeteners, such as agave nectar, contain high amounts of fructose which, rather than being processed by your body’s cells, head straight for your liver and can raise blood triglyceride levels. This can trigger atherosclerosis, increase fat deposits around the viscera, and decrease insulin sensitivity in overweight people. Read this for more info.

It contains 17 amino acids, minerals, vitamin C, broad-spectrum B vitamins and has a nearly neutral PH. It’s rich in probiotics, is 100% organic, and is gluten-free, dairy-free, GMO-free, vegan, and kosher!

Day #9/30: 10 spice soup

Link:  http://ohsheglows.com/2014/10/02/10-spice-vegetable-soup-freezer-friendly-vegan-gluten-free/

IMG_1041

YUM!  Super flavourful and delicious.  I made a few changes to the recipe.  First of all I did it in the slow cooker.  Second, I didn’t use the cashews.  Third I used a whole container of chicken broth rather than veggie broth.  And I didn’t add the Kale at the end.  Oh!  And I cooked up a chicken breast and through it into the slow cooker as well.  I am trying to increase my protein intake at this time for medical reasons (more on that another time..).

I am super happy with the amount of flavour that came out in the recipe, and I look forward to trying it again.  I had searched her page for freezer friendly meals (because I am having a hard time keeping up with all this eating!).  This one should be good to store in the freezer for some time.

That’s it for recipes this week!  Let me know if you try some of them, or if you have any recommendations for recipes I should try.  I tend to prefer no dairy, no processed ingredients, low sugar, and low processed grains and carbs.  If you have any-send ’em over!

Katherine

Leave a Reply

