Inflammation

I just spent a few hours typing an article on inflammation, only to realize I hadn't got my point across and the article was MUCH too wordy.

I want to share with you what I have learned and know about inflammation because of how it has affected my life.

When I think about inflammation in my body what immediately comes to mind is my joints.  After a long hike sometimes my knees will get crazily inflamed (I have taken myself to the hospital a few times), but quickly noticed only after certain hikes did they get swollen.  I also think about my wrists, how some days/weeks I wake up and they feel fine, and other times they feel stiff and sore and achey.  I think about digestion, and when my stomach used to bloat out, or when I am having gastric upset.  I also think about my mood and how much my outlook and mood can vary depending on a variety of factors, including inflammation in my gut/body.  

So what was the link between my joint pain, stomach distress, mental distress, and some further skin issues?  Inflammation.  I have come to read/learn and recognize that when my body is inflamed I feel swollen, achey, depressed, and have awful digestion, and therefore awful skin (your skin is a direct connection from what is going on in your gut).

The first real shocker for me was when I did a massive hike last year, and afterwards I ate at the spaghetti factory.  In my regular life I don't eat pasta (or wheat/gluten products), dairy, and I limit sugar.  Well that day we hiked 30 km and I felt the  need to pound back a huge bowl of pasta, ice cream, and a few ceaser’s.  I didn't walk for a week!  It didn't make sense though…I had done hikes that long before with no repercussions.  Something about this hike was different, and I firmly believe it had to do with my food choices afterwards.  I could list about 10 other examples where I have seen inflammation wreak havoc on my body due to dietary and lifestyle choices, take a look back at my ACNE article for another good example!

As a result I have been committed to eliminating inflammation to improve my health.  I feel so much more vitality when I do so, and therefore I want to share with you what I know about inflammation to see if I can help you too!

Rather than me try and summarize everything I have learned, I would love for you to take a look at this fantastic article that is 4 pages and presents some facinating information on inflammation.  If you are suffering from any kind of medical challenges at this time, it is definitely worth a read for you.

https://www.womentowomen.com/inflammation/causes-of-inflammation/

I am sure there is more information out there, and I would love to hear what you have experienced in terms of inflammation.

One thought on “Inflammation

  1. Anonymous says:

    Very interesting article!

    Found it fascinating how you at first assumed it was the major hike that was the problem, and then realised it was what you consumed afterwards!

    Like

Leave a Reply

