Guest Blog Post! Making a small change towards Optimal Health.

Here is a post from one of my coaches, Jill.  She has had a very important role in my life over the past year in overcoming blocks and barriers, getting clear on what I want, moving through emotions that were holding me back, as well as opening me up to a whole other realm of spirituality!  I asked her to share a post with my blog readers, to inspire them to continue to live their best life!  Here it is:

Life is busy. We’re pulled in many directions at the same time with home life, work and relationships not to mention finding time to take care of ourselves mentally, emotionally and physically. And one of the first things we stop taking care of is our health, yet without that being looked after every other area suffers. It’s not like we don’t know what to do. It’s pretty simple really; eat well, exercise, do some sort of self care such as meditation and stay in a positive state of mind. So if it’s that easy why in the heck don’t we do it? What stops us from taking the actions that will have us living our optimal lives?

In working with my clients I’ve found the number one thing that stops us from sticking to the commitment we make to ourselves is that we don’t put ourselves first. We are at the bottom of our own priority list. Even if we make a plan, hire a trainer, download “10 Easy Juicing Recipes to Become a God/Goddess” and actually go for it full out, 11 days later we’ve stopped juicing, we’re looking for excuses as to why we have to cancel this weeks training session and potato chips are back as one of the food groups.
So what’s the solution? How do we really take on what is arguably the most important thing we an do for our lives? It starts with acknowledging that we can not do this on our own. I’m a Personal Guide. It’s what I do for a living and I have a coach. Everyone needs someone to hold them accountable, help them see what they cannot see and cheer them on. It also takes understanding and working through the self sabotaging language we use in our heads, often referred to as our Inner Critic.  And then you need a solid, graduating plan that you can easily implement into your life. You’ve got to learn to walk before you can run so give yourself a break. You wouldn’t set the goal of running a 10k marathon a week after you start training would you? There’s nothing wrong with baby steps.
So right now, write down one thing that you can implement immediately that will move your towards your goal. Perhaps it’s scheduling 10 workout sessions in a row and actually putting them in your calendar. Or writing down a saying that motives you and posting it everywhere, including the bathroom mirror. One habit that I have created for myself is to think about the things I’m grateful for before I even before I open my eyes in the morning. It’s a wonderful way to start the day with positivity and motivation.
I wish you health, wealth and unlimited happiness!
With love,
Jill Prescott

Leave a Reply

