Top 10 ultimate health tips- to create a healthy weight & health FOREVER!

Feeling Desperate to get Healthy and Fit and Lose weight?

One day we try on a pair of jeans, or a dress, or we get into a bathing suit and realize we’ve put on a little weight.  Or we try to go for a jog or hike and feel breathless, and realize we are not as fit as we used to be.
Many times, this is when people jump on some sort of diet band wagon, or commit to running everyday, or cutting out certain foods.  These are not bad things to start on, but people don’t often stay fully committed to these practices, end up gaining the weight again eventually, and end up in the vicious cycle!

It is perfectly normal for our weight and fitness to fluctuate during periods of our life, as we prioritize other things, or we lose motivation.

But, if you want to maintain your best level of fitness and health, everyday, all year, I am giving away my top 10 ultimate tips to start doing today, and never give up!

I could very well put myself out of business if everyone followed these 10 rules, so I guess I should be careful what I am preaching J Remember it may take 5-10 years to fully implement all of these practices, so don’t rush it, set realistic goals- and GET GOING!!!

#10:  Cut the crap.  Crap= anything that is not a whole food, anything that comes in a container.  Literally toss anything in your life that is processed into the garbage.  This food is shit (sorry for the language) and by putting it into your body you are not allowing your system to function properly.  Although I am trained in fitness and exercise, getting rid of condiments/breads/cereals/salad dressings/pastas etc. is something I feel extremely passionate about!  You are not getting the right vitamins and minerals, and are causing disease by eating these foods!  This isn’t something most people can do in a day, month or year.  Just know that the more and more you cut it out, the better you will feel and perform.  Believe me!  (oh and once it’s gone, I promise you, you won’t miss it!!).

#9:  Cut the caffeine; drink more water, herbal tea, green teas.  I wrote an article on caffeine and exercise for a published journal (let me know if you want to read it).  But to put it plain and simple, caffeine drives your body to work harder than it would naturally.  Most people live in stressed out overworked world, where the body barely gets enough time to slow down, rest and recover.  When we are stressed out and overworked our body produces cortisol.  Cortisol production wreaks a ton of havoc in the body.  Therefore it seems great to have more energy to get through the day, but personally I believe our body is meant to perform naturally and if we are tired we are meant to sleep, not over work ourselves, and push through.  Many of the people I work with suffer from the inability to lose weight because of dehydration (drinking less than 8 glasses of water a day), it plays a HUGE role!  (70 % of the time we think we are hungry, we are actually thirsty!!).

#8:  Stress less, sleep more.  This year, 2014, I committed to getting no less than 8 hours of sleep a night, which often means going to bed at 9 pm for me!  I have stayed true to my goal, because I feel more energized, clear headed, and happier than before.  Sleep is the time when our body rebalances, repairs muscles, enhances our immune system, as well as many other functions.  When we don’t sleep enough we are just asking to struggle with our weight/fitness level etc.  Find out what 8 hours will look like for you, and commit to it.  No staying up to watch TV, or clean up the house, or get a quick last minute workout in.  Get it done earlier, or save it for another day, nothing is more important than sleep.

#7:  Strength train 2-3 days a week.  I can go on and on about muscle, but rather check out my facebook page to read about the top 10 benefits to weight training and why you need to do them!  I don’t think any body performs optimally and healthy long term without doing some strength training!

#6:  Indulge in moderation.  Know what your favourite foods and treats are and have them weekly, or monthly.  Don’t deprive yourself of those foods that bring you pleasure, but don’t eat them every day either!

#5:  Find something that brings you pleasure/joy/happiness.  A person who simply works, works out, eats well, etc. is missing the whole other realm of life that keeps a person sane and happy!  If you are finding it challenging to get to the bottom of your weight loss maybe it’s time to shake up life itself!  Challenging yourself with a new hobby can spark a new level of motivation, interest, and commitment within you!  Also, when we spend our time having fun, enjoying ourselves, and connecting with others we spend less time digging in the cupboards for something tasty to eat!  

#4:  Buy quality sourced, organic foods when possible.  Non-organic foods, especially meats are loaded with antibiotics, hormones, and a bunch of other crap.  These by products play a huge role in the functioning of our body.  Personally I would rather not eat meat (especially) if I can’t get it well sourced!

#3:  Get organized, prepared, and make food in advance.  Again, back to that busy lifestyle, I think one of the biggest barriers for people is taking the time to cook.  I say it over and over and over, but spending at least 2 days a week cooking up a storm, and having everything prepared in the fridge to grab and go is a lifesaver.  No more being stuck on the go with nothing but fast food choices.  No more waking up for breakfast and not eating because nothing is ready and you’ve got to get to work.  This is by far one of the hardest habit changes, but the one that pays off the most long-term.  Make life easier!

#2:  Pile in the fruits and veggies.  Rather than feeling confused about what to eat and when, ditch all rules and regulations and eat more fruits and veggies.  People always ask me “should I have 3 meals a day or 5-6 small ones”.  It depends on what works for you and your schedule.  For me it works best to have 3 meals a day, and maybe a snack.  I don’t have time to eat more than that, and I find I eat less overall when I do it this way.  Other people don’t have time to sit and eat for 20 minutes 3 times a day and are going to have to do 5-6 small meals.  Another question I often get is hot much protein should I eat, or should I lower my carbs.  Again, each person needs a certain amount depending on a variety factors, and it is important to figure this out.  But, whatever ‘program’ or schedule you decide to follow, just make sure it involves lots of greens, colourful veggies, and a wide variety of fruit.  These are the foods that bring us energy, health, and prevent disease, the more the merrier!

#1:  Move for at least an hour a day.  This is by far the most important.  This doesn’t mean exercise.  This doesn’t have to mean jogging, swimming, lifting weights, or doing aerobics.  This means moving your body in a way that elevates the heart rate, gets the breathing going, and keeps your tissues active!  My favourite ways to move everyday have always been walking or cycling.  For years I have either walked or cycled everywhere I have to go (I am human and some months I end up bussing the majority of the time).  I find when I walk and cycle I don’t necessarily get breathless, but this ongoing movement keeps me fit and healthy, and stabilizes my weight more than anything else I can do!  People who spend 4-5 days a week in the gym for an hour, but sit the rest of the time will be less healthy and fit and able to maintain their weight than those people who commit to moving everyday, as much as possible.

So if you spend 6 months to a year doing all of the things I just listed, I promise you you will not need a diet, you will be happy with your body and your fitness level, and you will be healthier than ever before!

Need help getting started??? ๐Ÿ™‚
 

Leave a Reply

